The Basilica and Ex Convent de Nuestra Señora de la Soledad

The construction of the church began in 1682; it was consecrated in 1690 by Friar Isidro Siraña y Cuenca. Its main facade is one of the finest examples of sculpted cantera in Oaxaca City.

It has sculptures framed by different types of columns. Above the entryway there is a relief of the Virgin Mary at the foot of the cross.The Convent of Nuestra Señora de la Soledad was built between 1690 and 1697.

The work is attributed to Friar Sebastián de San Felipe, who probably also supervised construction of the church. The convent belonged to Augustinian nuns who dedicated it to Santa Mónica. Currently this building is used by the municipal government of Oaxaca City.

The temple is one of the most outstanding examples of religious architecture in the viceroyalty of Oaxaca; essentially due to the main portal in the baroque style of the 17th century. The façade is unique in the city and is characterized mainly by the form of a screen and the staggering of their bodies that make it look like a huge buttress.

The Basilica and Ex Convent de Nuestra Señora de la Soledad

The Virgen de la Soledad is the patron saint of Oaxaca, where there are records of her cult from the last quarter of the 16th century. Every December 18, Oaxaqueños celebrate their day, the Queen of Oaxaca's Day. The mantle of the Oaxacan image is like that of the Andalusian virgins: it is made of thick cloth and embroidered; frames the face and falls in the shape of a bell.

How to get:
The Basilica of the Virgen de la Soledad is located 6 blocks west of the zócalo, between Av. Independencia and Calle de Morelos in the Historic Center of the city of Oaxaca.

Av. Independencia No. 107 Centro 68000 Oaxaca, Oax. Tel.(951)516 5076

Location map

Carousel Gallery (+)clic