The Church and Ex Convent of San José

Jesuits had the Church of San José constructed between 1588 and 1594. It was abandoned for many years due to damage suffered during the earthquake of 1616.

At the beginning of the eighteenth century Bishop Ángel Maldonado initiated the rebuilding of it and had a convent annexed to it in which to house Spanish nuns of the Capuchin congregation. Today it houses the recently remodeled School of Fine Arts.

During the Mexican Revolution the former-convent functioned as a blood donation center, hospital, and an old-age asylum. Its simple facade has a triangular pediment above a recess that contains an image of San José. The facade of the convent is a unique expression of baroque architecture. Of the interior patios only that of the main entrance is in use today.

The Church and Ex Convent of San José

It is currently under the administration of the Autonomous University "Benito Juárez" of Oaxaca and has been the headquarters of the Faculty of Fine Arts since 1950.

How to get:
It is located in front of La Soledad and Plaza de la Danza, so you can take advantage of the day to visit these three places and also enjoy a rich artisanal snow.

Avenida Morelos No. 300, Centro 68000 Oaxaca, Oax. Tel.(951) 5162054

Location map

Carousel Gallery (+)clic